Causes Of Sensitivity

Causes of Sensitivity

Causes of Sensitivity

What Causes Sensitive Teeth?

Dentin hypersensitivity, or tooth sensitivity, is a common dental condition. It can develop over time as a result of common problems like receding gums and enamel wear. Most sufferers are between 20 and 50 years old. Tooth sensitivity can start when the softer, inner part of the tooth called dentin becomes exposed. Dentin lies under the enamel and the gums.

Thousands of microscopic channels run through the dentin towards the centre of the tooth. Once the dentin is exposed, external triggers like a cold drink can stimulate the nerves inside the tooth, resulting in the typical short, sharp pain of tooth sensitivity.

What Causes Sensitive Teeth?

Only a dentist can confirm you have dentin hypersensitivity. If you are experiencing any dental problems, always consult your dentist for advice. If you have dentin hypersensitivity, you can help  minimize further exposure of the dentin, care for your sensitive teeth and relieve the painful symptoms by making some simple changes to your daily oral care routine and dietary habits.

In this section we look at some of the main causes of sensitivity.

  • Enamel wear e.g. from tooth grinding or brushing too often
  • Receding gums e.g. from gum disease or aggressive brushing

The sensitivity which can be experienced during and after professional tooth whitening (bleaching) treatments is different from dentin hypersensitivity. See Does whitening cause sensitivity? for more information.

ABOUT SENSITIVITY

Verre d'eau glacée garni d'une tranche de citron

Les causes de la sensibilité

Causes of Sensitivity

Quelles sont les causes de la sensibilité dentaire?

L'hypersensibilité dentinaire ou sensibilité dentaire, est une pathologie dentaire courante. Elle peut s'installer avec le temps à la suite de problèmes courants commela récession des gencives et l'usure de l'émail. La plupart des personnes affectées ont entre 20 et 50 ans. La sensibilité dentaire commence lorsque la partie interne la plus molle de la dent, appelée dentine, est exposée. La dentine est située sous l'émail et les gencives. 

Des milliers de tubules microscopiques parcourent la dentine pour aller vers le centre de la dent. Une fois la dentine exposée, les déclencheurs externes (comme une boisson froide) peuvent stimuler les nerfs à l'intérieur de la dent, entraînant une douleur brève et vive caractéristique de la sensibilité dentaire.

 

Quelles sont les causes de la sensibilité dentaire?

Seul un dentiste peut confirmer que vous souffrez d'hypersensibilité dentinaire. Si vous souffrez d'un problème dentaire, toujours consulter votre dentiste. Si vous souffrez d'hypersensibilité dentinaire, vous pouvez minimiser de nouvelles expositions de la dentine, prendre soin de vos dents sensibles et soulager les symptômes douloureux en apportant de simples changements à votre rituel de soins buccodentaires quotidien et à vos habitudes alimentaires.

Dans cette section, nous aborderons certaines des principales causes de la sensibilité dentaire.

La sensibilité ressentie pendant ou suite à des traitements de blanchiment professionnels est différente de l'hypersensibilité dentinaire. Voir Le blanchiment provoque-t-il une sensibilité? pour de plus amples renseignements.

À PROPOS DE LA SENSIBILITÉ